Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
American Public Transportation Association

 Risk Management Committee

The Risk Management Committee is made up of transit risk managers, safety professionals, insurance brokers and other industry professionals who have an interest in managing or addressing risk-related issues and topics within the transit industry.  With over one hundred members from across the US within a variety of industries, the Committee is currently led by:

  • Chair: Mark A. Emmons of Indianapolis Public Transportation Corporation (IndyGo)
  • Vice Chair: James Keane of the Port Authority of New York & New Jersey 
  • Secretary: Ken Reed, Southwest Ohio Regional Transit Authority (SORTA)
  • Immediate Past Chair:  Joan Lynch, Metropolitan Transit Authority of Harris County
  • Staff Advisor: Polly Hanson, APTA 

The officers' terms run for a period of three (3) years with elections being held at the Committee's meeting during the annual Risk Management Seminar and voted on by the attending membership at the Committee meeting.

Our key annual event is the Risk Management Seminar, where attendees exchange and share information on ways that risk and associated factors are being addressed within their respective agencies or organizations.  Speakers from various industries, including our own membership present on a variety of topics which are always current and relevant to Risk Management.  Sessions touch on but are not limited to insurance and insurance market trends/conditions, safety, technology, compliance and governance, legal and tort issues, and industry best practices.  It is the mission of the committee to always deliver the most current and advanced information to its membership.  The Seminar always includes a “Roundtable” discussion which is conducted in open forum for attendees to raise questions, concerns and issues that are not addressed in the seminar sessions, or to add to and request further information on those sessions. The Risk Management Committee is recognized to be made up of subject matter experts and veteran industry professionals that are from time to time called upon to participate in cutting-edge studies, benchmarking and surveys, lead training, webinars, panels and councils. Committee members and panels from this committee are often called upon to assist in formulating relevant framework for these activities and work with organizations dedicated to reporting these analytics. The Committee has participated in multiple annual insurance surveys and most recently been the founding base for a Public Transit Benchmarking Survey conducted in conjunction with Aon, due out late 2018.


 Committee Contacts



Mark A. Emmons
telephone (317) 614-9289 


James Keane
telephone (201) 216-2821



Kenneth Reed
telephone (513) 433-1771

​Staff Advisor

Polly Hanson
telephone (202) 496-4895

Copyright © 2018 American Public Transportation Association
1300 I Street NW
Suite 1200 East
Washington, DC 20005
Telephone (202) 496-4800 | Fax (202) 496-4324
Logo Usage | Privacy Policy | Staff Intranet