Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
American Public Transportation Association

 Sustainability Committee

The mission of the Sustainability Committee is to support the adoption of sustainable principles (economic, environmental and social) in the public transportation industry and to articulate public transportation’s contribution to local, regional, state and national sustainability and livability objectives. Sustainability, at its core, is a way to make our communities more livable by integrating and balancing economic, social and environmental needs.

Committee Officers:
​Chair: Janet Gonzalez Tudor, LEED AP BD+C, ENV SP, STP
Transportation Sustainability Director and Associate Vice President, HDR

​Vice Chair: Amy Shatzkin 
Sustainability Manager , Sound Transit

Secretary: Robert Borowski 
Sustainability Officer, Capital Metropolitan Transportation Authority


The committee holds its main meeting at the Sustainability & Public Transportation Workshop, and other meetings at the Annual Meeting, and/or the Bus/Rail Conference. At these meetings, members discuss items regarding the Sustainability Commitment, the APTA Sustainability & Urban Design Standards program, future Sustainability & Public Transportation workshops, and other pertinent items to committee membership.

  • Next Meeting: 2019 Mobility Conference: Bus, Paratransit, and the Changing Mobility Landscape


The Sustainability Committee is open to all APTA members. While the committee's work is directed to the sustainability work of APTA and its members, those with any interest in sustainability topics are welcome to join the committee, as well as attend the annual workshop.


  • Sustainability Commitment Signatories Subcommittee



 Committee Contacts



Janet Gonzalez Tudor

Staff Advisor

Rich Weaver
telephone (202) 496-4809
Elizabeth Lovinggood
telephone (202) 496-4878

 Sustainability Site

Copyright © 2018 American Public Transportation Association
1300 I Street NW
Suite 1200 East
Washington, DC 20005
Telephone (202) 496-4800 | Fax (202) 496-4324
Logo Usage | Privacy Policy | Staff Intranet